Free Book Online
Book The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000


The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000

2.2 (3503)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Frank Conroy (Editor)

    Book details

According to the New York Times Book Review, the Iowa Short Fiction Award is among the most prestigious literary prizes America offers, and the Chicago Tribune has called the honor ''a respected prize that annually introduces readers to a writer whose work is little known outside the circle of literary magazine and university publications.'' In 1991, to both celebrate the stories discovered by the Iowa Short Fiction Award and its companion, the John Simmons Short Fiction Award, and to further acquaint readers with the prize-winning authors, Frank Conroy compiled The Iowa Award: The Best Stories from Twenty Years. He follows that now with The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000, a collection of twenty-one winning selections. Whether hurtling toward Earth in a disabled airplane, sharing silence with a prostitute, fantasizing about the Manson family, or hiding disgust for a dying friend, the characters in this new collection engage and captivate readers. The authors - from 1991 winners Elizabeth Harris and Sondra Spatt Olsen to newcomers John McNally and Elizabeth Oness - explore the nuances of love, lust, youth, old age, illness, nostalgia, obsession, idiosyncrasy, and surprise. Their work - judged by such accomplished writers as Ethan Canin, Francine Prose, Ann Beattie, and Stuart Dybek - and the selections Conroy has chosen to share exemplify remarkable writing. Moreover, each writer achieves the expectations of the Iowa Short Fiction Award, established in 1969 to provide a forum for the publication of a uniquely American literary form.
2.5 (12790)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 348 pages
  • Frank Conroy (Editor)
  • University of Iowa Press (30 Sept. 2001)
  • English
  • 4
  • Fiction

Read online or download a free book: The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000


Review Text

The message text*: